Liberia: Lone Star Conduct First Training Session in Egypt

Prince Balde and Devine Teah at the Lone Star's first training session in Cairo, Egypt

Liberia’s senior men’s national team on Wednesday held their first training session in Cairo, Egypt, ahead of next week’s international friendlies.

The Lone Star, under the guidance of interim coach Thomas Kojo, will face Niger on Sunday, September 25, and later face Egypt on Tuesday. 

Updates from the Liberia Football Association reveal that strikers William Jebor, and Kpah Sherman, Marcus Macauley, Alvin Maccornel, Joachim Adukor, Abu Kamara, and Jamal Arago have all arrived in Cairo and formed part of Wednesday’s training session.

Other foreign-based players are expected to arrive later to join the squad.

The Lone Star delegation, comprising local-based players and officials, arrived in Cairo late Tuesday.

For the Egyptians, Mohamed Salah, a star player for Liverpool, rejoined the Egyptian national team as Rui Vitoria, a new Portuguese coach, assembled his first roster in advance of the two friendlies.

Salah missed the Pharaohs team’s two most recent games, which were lost 0-2 to Ethiopia in the second round of Group D of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers and 1-4 to South Korea in a friendly. These defeats were the reason that former national team coach Ihab Galal was fired.

Lone Star’s Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Boison Wynney de Souza (Gloria Buzau, Romania), Melvin King (Bouake FC, Ivory Coast) and Tommy Songo (LISCR FC, Liberia).

Defenders: Joel Johnson Alajarin (Hartford Athletic, United States of America), Jeremy Saygbe (CD Atletico de Marbella Balompie, Spain), Jamal Arago (Ohod FC, Saudi Arabia), Prince Balde (FK Drita, Kosovo), Sampson Dweh (FK Vyskov, Czech Republic), Alvin Maccornel (Naft Al-Basra SC, Iraq) and Ben Benaiah (LPRC Oilers, Liberia). 

Midfielders: Joachim Adukor (FK Aktobe, Kazakhstan), Oscar Murphy Dorley (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), David Tweh (Hapoel Nof Haglil, Israel), Marcus Macauley (Mghayar Al-Sarhan, Jordan), Ketu Jerbo (Bea Mountain, Liberia), Sidiki Kromah (Invincible Eleven, Liberia), Divine Roosevelt Teah (Nimba FC, Liberia) and Abrahim Mohamed “Brem” Soumaoro (unattached).

Forwards: William Jerbo (Nomme Kalju, Estonia), Kpah Sherman (Terengganu, Malaysia) and Abu Kamara (Kuching City, Malaysia).