Liberia: Lone Star Arrive in Cairo, Egypt for International Friendlies

The team of home-based players and officials arrived in Cairo, Egypt late Tuesday evening (Photo: LFA)

Liberia’s senior men’s national team will play two international friendlies early next week in Cairo, Egypt.

The Lone Star will play Niger on Sunday, September 25, and later play Egypt on Tuesday, September 27. The Lone Star delegation, comprising 26 members, arrived in Cairo Egypt late Tuesday after transiting in Lome, Togo.

The team is led by Coach Thomas Kojo, who has been appointed as interim coach.  The Lone Star are making use of the FIFA international break window that runs from September 19- September 25.   

This is the second time in a year that the Lone Star are playing Egypt in an international friendly. Lone Star, under the guidance of former coach Peter Butler, lost 2-0 against Egypt at the Borg El Arab Stadium on September 30, 2021.

The delegation includes Head of the delegation and Executive Committee Member Tickly Monkoney, Deputy Minister of Sports Andy Quamie, Ministry of Sports representative Kessellee Kanneh, Civicus Barsi-Giah, and Lib Bleacher Sports’ chief football writer, Yusuf Sheriff.

The backroom staff of the Lone Star delegation included: Acting Head Coach Thomas Kojo, assistant Robert Lartey, goalkeeper trainer Nathaniel Sherman, and trainer George Gebro.

Other members of the delegation also included: Administrative Manager Sabastian Collins, team doctor Lawuohbah Gbozee, masseur Emmanuel Foko, Kit Manager Tommy Johnson, and Kit man Abraham Kaba.

Six players received a late call-up following the omission of midfielders Seth Kanteh Hellberg, Justin Salmon, Mohammed Kamara, Allen Njie, and goalkeeper Melvin King, who didn’t make the squad due to injuries and other travel-related issues.

Full squad 

Goalkeepers: Boison Wynney de Souza (Gloria Buzau, Romania), Melvin King (Bouake FC, Ivory Coast) and Tommy Songo’s (LISCR FC, Liberia)

Defenders: Joel Johnson Alajarin (Hartford Athletic, United States of America), Jeremy Saygbe (CD Atletico de Marbella Balompie, Spain), Jamal Arago (Ohod FC, Saudi Arabia), Prince Balde (FK Drita, Kosovo), Sampson Dweh (FK Vyskov, Czech Republic), Alvin Maccornel (Naft Al-Basra SC, Iraq) and Ben Benaiah (LPRC Oilers, Liberia) 

Midfielders: Joachim Adukor (FK Aktobe, Kazakhstan), Oscar Murphy Dorley (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), David Tweh (Hapoel Nof Haglil, Israel), Marcus Macauley (Mghayar Al-Sarhan, Jordan), Ketu Jerbo (Bea Mountain, Liberia), Sidiki Kromah (Invincible Eleven, Liberia), Divine Roosevelt Teah (Nimba FC, Liberia) and Abrahim Mohamed “Brem” Soumaoro (unattached).

Forwards: William Jerbo (Nomme Kalju, Estonia), Kpah Sherman (Terengganu, Malaysia) and Abu Kamara (Kuching City, Malaysia).