WAFU A CAF Women’s Champions League Qualifiers: Determine Girls Depart for Cape Verde

Determine Girls players appreciating one of the residents of the community in which they camped for the past weeks before departure

Liberia women’s division champions, Determine Girls, departed on Sunday, July 18, for the upcoming WAFU A qualifiers for the CAF Women’s Champions League.

The 27-person delegation is headed by Liberia Football Association (LFA) Technical Director Henry Browne. The delegation, according to LFA, traveled in two nearly equal groups. 

Director Browne, Secretary/Media Officer Gustufus Karpeh, Trainer Emmanuel Bearkie and players Jackie Touah, Diamond Dahn, Margaret Stewart, Marie Flomo, Jennie Tisdell, Sylvia Pyne, Success Gaye, Ruth Wesseh, Pauline Agbotsu and Elizabeth Tamba left Monrovia for Conakry, Guinea, onto Dakar, Senegal and Praia, Cape Verde.

The other group comprises Club President Varsay Kollie, Team Manager Chally Johnson, Head Coach Robertson Waner, Deputy Coach Patience Gwah, medic Lydia Grant-Boi and players Susan Bah, Josephine Brisbane, Gertrude Gbormue, Josephine Palipue, Joetta Wah, Jessica Koffa, Marthaline Moore and Hawa Conteh. They left Monrovia for Abidjan unto Dakar and Praia.

Determine Girls are one of four champions from WAFU A that were qualified to participate in the qualifiers after meeting up with the club licensing procedures.

Seven Stars FC of Cape Verde, AS Mande of Mali, and AS Dakar of Senegal, are the three other teams that will participate in the tournament.

According to the fixture of the tournament, Determine Girls will meet AS Dakar Sacré Coeur of Senegal in their first match on Saturday, July 24; Malian champions AS Mandé on Tuesday, July 27; and will face hosts Seven-Stars in their final match on Friday, July 30. 

The team with the highest points among the four teams will qualify for the finals slated for November of this year in Egypt. 

Seven teams will qualify for the final tournament through the zonal qualifiers in addition to the champion club from the host country.