‘BASOSA Must Lead By Example’


Mr. Henry Yonton, Deputy Minister for Administration at the Ministry of Youth & Sports, has challenged the Bushrod & St. Paul Old Timers Sports Association (BASOSA) to lead the campaign for change and to be exemplary in their administration.

Speaking at the official launch of BASOSA at the Banjor Public School in Lower Virginia, outside Monrovia, yesterday, Minister Yonton urged BASOSA leaders to make a difference.

“You must set example and be responsible and accountable to your members,” Yonton said. “More often administration falls apart because leaders are not independent in their decisions.”

He told BASOSA leaders to show honesty and fairness in dealing with their members, asking them to realize they have the responsibility to work to benefit their communities.

“You must be able to identify a project, say, to help those who are unable to go to school, and be a source of hope to them,” Yonton said.

He told BASOSA and a host of other old timer sports association members that the doors of the Ministry of Youth & Sports are open to provide the needed assistance and support to old timer sports.

Chief launcher Hon. William Darkeh re-echoed the need for old timer sports association to identify needs and work to fill them in their various communities.

Hon. Darlkeh made an initial contribution of L$20,000, which he said was donated together with Hon. Adolf A. Lawrence, who was meanwhile honored for his contribution to sports in the country.

Others who were so honored included Mr. Mustapha Raji, with the champion trophy; and posthumously, M. La-Marks Kerdoe.

The rest were Samuel J. Jlakrong; former Lone Star penalty kicker Teah Sampson (Fokofo) as the Most Valuable Player; Sakpa Myers as the Best Defender; and posthumously, goalkeeper Paul Dadzie, with the Best Goalkeeper award; Vava (Sieh) George, as Coach of the Year; Hon. Francis Paye, Official of the Year; Anthony Sumo of IE fame as the Highest Scorer of the Year; Omari Jackson, the Best Journalist of the Year; and Ambassador (Senator) George M. Weah, with the Godfather of Liberian Football Award. Certificates were presented to the honorees or their representatives.

Official launchers included Hon. William Darkeh, Abraham Sesay, Hon. Daniel Orrosco Brown, Kerkula Muka Kamara, Hon. Regina Sokan Weah and Madam Tonia Clay.

Old timer teams present were Veterans, BOB, Old Hands, Devereaux, CLADOSA, Logan Town, Small Town, FOFA, Gblohwein, KOSA, HOUR and Banjor.

The launching program by BASOSA was chaired by Mohammed Sheriff, co-chaired by Howard N. Sieh with Jeremiah Saysay as its general secretary. After the program Banjor Old Timers and Old Hands Old Timers played a friendly match.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here