LISCR Await CAF Champions League Opponent

Liberia 2016/2017 double champions and 2018 CAF Champions League representative , LISCR FC.

After emerging as Liberia’s next representative to the 2018 CAF Champions League, LISCR FC will next week Wednesday know their opponents for the preliminary rounds of the continental competition after the draw.

LISCR became champions last season after rivals FC Fassel’s title ambition was canceled by protest ruling. Twelve (12) points were deducted from Fassel after they were found guilty of fielding ineligible players.

The ‘Shipping Boys’ under the guidance of Gambian Coach Tapah Manneh were crowned champions after accumulating 42 points out of 22 unbeaten matches. They later became double champions after edging out ELWA United 3-0 in the FA Cup final.

LISCR in preparation for the competition have already signed on nine new players, including four Gambians from the Gambian First Division League.

Liberia’s previous representative in the CAF Champions League, Barrack Young Controllers, dropped in the first round of this year’s edition after losing to Ferroviário Beira 4-1 in post-match penalties. Both teams won 2-0 each of their home fixtures to level the aggregate at two-all.

Earlier, BYC advanced to the first round defeating Stade Malien 7-6 in post-match penalties. This year’s campaign was the 53rd edition of the African premier club football tournament. Moroccan side Wydad Casablanca won this year’s edition of the tournament after defeating Egyptian side Al-Ahly. Wydad represented Africa at the 2017 FIFA Club World Cup in the United Arab Emirates.

According to the Confederation of African Football, the two-leg preliminary round ties are scheduled for February. It requires 14 or 16 matches to become African champions with the rewards, including a US$2.5 million prize and qualification for the Fifa Club World Cup.


Algeria: Entente Setif, Mouloudia Alger
Angola: Primeiro Agosto
Benin: to be named
Botswana: Township Rollers
Burkina Faso: Kadiogo
Burundi: LLB Academic
Cameroon: Eding Sport
Central African Republic: Olympic Real Bangui
Congo Brazzaville: AC Leopards, Otoho
Democratic Republic of Congo: V Club, TP Mazembe
Egypt: Al Ahly, Misr Lel-Makkasa
Equatorial Guinea: Leones Vegetarianos
Ethiopia: Saint George
Gabon: Mounana
Gambia: Armed Forces
Ghana: Aduana Stars
Guinea: Horoya
Guinea-Bissau: Benfica
Ivory Coast: ASEC Mimosas, Williamsville
Kenya: Gor Mahia
Lesotho: Bantu
Liberia: LISCR
Libya: Al Tahaddy
Madagascar: CNaPS Sport
Malawi: Be Forward Mighty Wanderers
Mali: Stade Malien, Real Bamako
Mauritania: Concorde
Mauritius: Pamplemousse
Morocco: Difaa el Jadidi, Wydad Casablanca (holders)
Mozambique: Songo
Niger: AS FAN
Nigeria: Plateau Utd, MFM
Rwanda: Rayon Sports
Senegal: Generation Foot
Seychelles: Saint Louis
South Africa: Mamelodi Sundowns, Wits
South Sudan: Wau Salaam
Sudan: Al Hilal, Al Merrikh
Swaziland: Mbabane Swallows
Tanzania: Young Africans
Togo: Port
Tunisia: Esperance, Etoile Sahel
Uganda: KCCA
Zambia: Zesco Utd, Zanaco
Zanzibar: JKU
Zimbabwe: Platinum


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here