Liberia Faces Lesotho to Qualify for Group C


The national soccer team Lone Star has been drawn against The Likuena (Crocodiles) of Lesotho on a two-leg qualifying match to join Group C for the 2015 African Cup of Nations.

According to last Sunday’s draw at CAF headquarters in Cairo, Egypt, Liberia will host Lesotho in the first-leg in Monrovia, on Sunday, May 18, 2014 and play the return leg in two weeks in Maseru.

An aggregate win by either country will qualify her to the second round to join Burkina Faso, Gabon and Angola to battle for the qualifiers of Group C.

The qualifiers for Morocco 2015 will be made up of seven groups of four teams who contest home and away fixtures. The seven group winners, seven group runners-up and the best third-placed side will qualify directly for the final tournament. Host Morocco is automatically qualified.

Even though, critical football pundits may say that Lesotho may not prove difficult against Liberia  because it ranks 138 in the world and 34 in Africa; and Liberia is 119 and 34, they may not be in the race for a mere show.

Lesotho has never qualified for the World Cup or the Africa Cup of Nations. Liberia has also never qualified for the World Cup but has qualified twice for the African Cup of Nations (1996 and 2002).

But the Crocodiles Boys, according to Lesotho Press, are positive under the tutelage of Leslie Notsi to qualify and they have their government’s support.

Meanwhile, the Secretary General of the Liberia Football Association (LFA), Alphonso Armah told the Daily Observer that the list of names for the national team will be announced soon.

“We will announce the names of the players ahead of the Liberia-Lesotho’s clash along with the technical team,” Armah said.

Meanwhile, defending champion Nigeria will meet with South Africa in one of seven qualifying groups. North African rivals Tunisia and Egypt will face each other; Ghana will meet Togo, and Ivory Coast and Cameroon are drawn together.

The complete first round matches: Liberia v Lesotho; Kenya v Comoros Islands; Madagascar v Uganda; Mauritania v Equatorial Guinea ; Namibia v Congo; Libya v Rwanda; Burundi v Botswana ; Central African Republic v Guinea Bissau.

The rest are: Swaziland v Sierra Leone; Gambia v Seychelles; Sao Tome e Principe v Benin; Malawi v Chad; Tanzania v Zimbabwe and Mozambique v South Sudan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here