Junior Marshall Win LFA 2019 Under-15 Heroes Cup

The champions: Junior Marshall Football Academy

Junior Marshall Football Academy have won the 2019 Liberia Football Association (LFA) Under-15 Heroes Cup. They beat Cece United Football Academy 1-0 at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium (ATS) on Sunday.

Mohammed Turay bundled home a goalmouth scrabble in the sixth minute against the run of play.

Deton Kollie thought he had found the equalizer for Cece United but he was adjudged to be offside – a spot on call by center referee Moses B. Johnson and assistant referee number two Roger P. Brown.

Cece United head coach Edwin Larblah said his game plans were disrupted by the disqualification of three players.

“We had players, who were to be in certain positions but they were disqualified. So we were forced to use other players in positions we didn’t plan for.

“However, we accept the defeat. We will go back to the drawing board and come back stronger for the next competition,” said Larblah.

Junior Marshall head coach Theodore Gould described the victory as a lifetime achievement.

“I am very proud of this moment because it is the most successful moment in my life because my objective was to be a winner,” he said.

Gould hopes the LFA will select a team to represent Liberia in an international under-15 competition. The Heroes Cup is the LFA’s desire to celebrate the contribution and recognition of former players, who served and uplifted Liberian football and the national teams.

The tournament is to also honor icons and players like Wanibo Toe, John ‘Monkey’ Brown, Victor Seah, Patrick Doeplah, Benedict ‘Mama Musa’ Wesseh, Josiah Nagbe Johnson, Frank Jericho Nagbe, Sr., Washington Blay, Sakpa ‘Myers’ Nyenswah, Borbor Gaye, Dominic Vava George, President George Manneh Oppong Weah and James Salinsa Debbah.

It is to also remember several players like Murphy Nagbe, Patrick Jackson and Nathaniel Sherman, who got injured on national duty.

 Cece United: 1-Abraham Ballah, 10-captain Hassan Ahmed, 5-Marcus Gayflor, 4-Alex Doe, 2-Tommy Cooper, 3-Hennah Massaquoi, 8-Clifton Jones, 13-Emmanuel Zarwolo, 11-Delton Kollie, 9-Mohammed Turay, 7-Sumo Kollie.

Substitutions: 17-Derrick Bodno, 18-Annieta Tarpeh, 16-Alphonso Davis, 14-Melvin Zah, 12-Isaac Harmon, 19-James Cooper, 21-James Nagbe.

Junior Marshall: 1-Augustine Tardeh, 6-captain Jusu Kollie, 5-James B. B. Tarr, 18-Cyrus Bestman, 2-Mark Brown, 15-Amos T. Sehkehpoh, 7-Alex Sembeh, 11-Sensee Sherman, 17-Emmanuel

Daykay, 9-Prince Collins, 14-Joel Johnson; head coach Theodore Gould.

Substitutions: 19-David Thusu, 20-Gabriel Kollie, 13-Archie Johnson, 10-Emmanuel Toe, 8-Edwin Williams, 30-Christopher Amos.

Match officials: Moses B. Johnson, center referee; Glen W. Johnson, assistant referee #1; Roger P. Brown, assistant referee #2; Victoria Kabba, reserve referee; Harrington Weah, match commissioner and statistician Shelton M. Kamara.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here