Surprise Entries in Coca-Cola Cup Finals

Nimba United hit man Elijah Garlo; IE, Fassell FC draws .jpg


Two teams have surprisingly emerged in the semi finals of the Coca-Cola Big 8 Tournament ahead of clubs, which achieved more feats.

Newly promoted 1st division club Nimba United trounced Mighty Barrolle 2-1 on Tuesday to qualify for the finals, which killed sensational LISCR FC’s hope to crossover.

The Sanniquellie based team lost 1-0 to BYC but drew 1-1 with LISCR FC which qualified her as the second semi finalist with four points behind Group A leader, BYC I, who amassed nine points without conceding defeat or a goal.

Nimba United, founded in 2008 has never won any championship.

In the 2012/2013 League, Nimba United was undeservedly crowned the champion of the 2nd division after FC Fassell was scrapped of the title for fielding Lasanna Sesay for the lack of “Work Permit.”

The 3rd sitter on Group A log, LISCR FC accrued two points and therefore unexpectedly failed to qualify.

LISCR FC and Barrolle drew 2-2 in their opener on Friday; and on Sunday settled to a 1-1 tie with Nimba United – then on Tuesday, BYC narrowly pinned LISCR 1-0.

LISCR FC, unlike Nimba United, won the top league and Knockout (Liberian Cup) twice, as well as the Super Cup, two times.

The least member of Group A, Mighty Barrolle, which earned one point, is the most decorated team, with 13 titles.

However, Barrolle hanged their jerseys with one point, having drawn with LISCR 2-2 but bowed to BYC 2-0 and Nimba United 2-1 respectively.

Between 1967 and 2009 the Rollers, dubbed the Kanyan Peppers Boys lifted the gigantic trophies 13 times to tie with IE.

Group leader, BYC, won all her three games without conceding a goal. BYC whipped Nimba United 1-0; Barolle 2-0 and LISCR 1-0.

BYC, dubbed the Go Blue Boys have won the 1st division championship twice and clinched the Super Cup consecutively three times as well as the knockout (Liberian Cup) once.

For Group B, NPA Anchors also surprisingly and unpredictably head the group with seven points when they pinned FC Aries 2-0; while Aries is the 2nd worst team with one point.

NPA Anchors have won the championship once in 1994 and have been struggling to be amongst the top five teams in the league since then.

Howbeit, IE joined Group B leaders with 1-1 pulsating draw with Fassell FC. The Sunshine Yellow boys qualified with five points, while seeded team FC Fassell is out of the competition with two points.

According to the Coca-Cola Big 8 Tournament, BYC is expected to host IE in the first derby on Friday, May 8 at 2:00pm while NPA locks with Nimba United.

On Sunday, May 10, the winners of the two games would meet to fight for the US$2,000 and US$1,000 respectively and the Coca-Cola Cup, at 3:00pm.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here