LBS, Judiciary Win 2015 Intra-Gov’t Tournament

LBS– the winners of the .jpg

The Falcons football squad of the Liberia Broadcasting System (LBS) and the Female Law Interpreters of the Judiciary were over the weekend crowned as champions of the 2015 Special Intra-Governmental Tournament – which was hugely marred with protests and lesser parties.

The Falcons whipped the Ministry of Defense 2-1 to grab the football gigantic 1st place trophy on Friday, while the Judiciary was handed the kickball 1st place trophy on Saturday owing to NASSCORP blatant refusal to ‘make available and dress’ the same players for the rematch which was rearranged from Friday owing to pressing time because of the Court’s injunction. Judiciary led NASSCORP 14-1 points.

Interestingly, the grand finals between Judiciary and NASSCORP kickball teams were halted owing to an “injunction” from Judge Yussif D. Kaba of the Circuit Court on behalf of the Judiciary branch football team against the ruling of the Ministry of Youth and Sports in favor of the Legislature, which dropped Judiciary caused for fielding two illegal players. The Judiciary whipped the Legislature 2-0.

After about an hour of “dialogue and negotiation” by the organizers of the tournament, the Writ of Injunction was withdrew by the Sheriffs of the Circuit.

In the MYS’ ruling against the Judiciary on Friday, the Protest and Grievance Committee, headed by Wortoh Anderson said players Hamilton P. Sackor and James Nimene were “ineligible players” and violated Section 7-5 of rules and regulation of the tournament.

After the Legislature kicked-off the protest in the opener, which brought to the eight football teams and five kickball teams, the kickball team of the Forestry Development Authority (FDA) followed against the Judiciary kickball team, after she bowed 13-2 points.

The Judiciary won the protest over the failure of FDA to produce evident.

The organizer of the tournament – the Ministry of Youth and Sports, also filed separate protests against LBS and Judiciary, having been whipped 4-1 and 9-5 respectively in the football and kickball games. The kickball team of the Judiciary also filed protest against MYS for fielding ineligible players.

Deputy Minister Henry B. Yonton, Jr., the chairman of the organizing committee, ordered the waiver of the protest “for the good of the game and the tournament.”

According to the tournament’s statistics, the Falcons defeated MYS 4-1; the Legislature 2-1 and Defense Ministry 2-1 to grab the football title. In other results, GAC pinned NASSCORP 7-6 in a lottery kick, after a pulsating 1-1 tie.

For Defense Ministry, she whipped LIBTELCO 2-1; and then dragged GAC 1-0 to reach the finals.

For the kickball, Judiciary convincingly flogged FDA 13-2; MYS 9-5 and NASSCORP 14-1 to grab the title; while NASSCORP only whipped Finance Ministry 21-11 and took a bye to the final. In other kickball result, MYS won Legislature 10-4.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here