Classic Wins in Ellen’s Cup

Action from the LISCR,-web.jpg

Sensational LISCR FC grabbed her time-honored victory on Saturday and moved to the quarterfinals of the President’s Cup, overcoming the nightmare in the pre-season’s Coca-Cola tournament, where she was eliminated in the preliminary rounds.

LISCR whipped Mighty Blue Angels 3-0, in the 8th match of the tournament in front of a record crowd at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium.

Lanky and finisher Mohammed Varney raised the curtain in the 14th minute and swelled the tally in the 37th through a spot kick. Midfielder Emmanuel Freeman sealed the score in the 45th minute before his substitution.

Versatile midfielder Abraham Barshall controlled the middle up to his send-off while Prince Seameh was impressive. But most LISCR fans wanted the return of left-back Daniel Woto to boost their defense.

The Cooper Sarnoh’s men redeemed their morale and fans, and seemed to be more aggressive for the next round after a shameful exit in the Coca-Cola Cup. The inexcusable departure of the Gardnersville team led to an overhaul and let-go of four players.

LISCR fans, including president Mustapha Raji were in tears when they drew 2-2 and 1-1 with Mighty Barrolle and Nimba United respectively and bowed 1-0 to BYC which put them out of the tournament in the round-robin’s beginning rounds.

LISCR has won the top league and Knockout twice, as well as the Super Cup, two times and five pre-season tournaments.

Earlier, football giants, BYC I, also convincingly whipped newly promoted 2nd division Sesay FC, 3-0.

Unstylish striker Blamo Nimely netted the first goal and brawny striker Mark Paye got the brace.

Coach Robert Larteh’s boys’ triumph ignited his recommitment to the team amidst speculation of his departure to FC Fassell.

Coach Larteh, dubbed Pella stated, “This time of year, there are lots of things being speculated in the public regarding other coaching opportunities, but I want to reaffirm my commitment to BYC Football.”

He added: “After being here for the past few years, I can see why this is such a special place in terms of the history, winning tradition, and how much BYC Football means to our fans.”

Fortnight ago, BYC credibly whipped Nimba United 3-1 on the crowded Blue Field and were crowned champions of the Coca-Cola Cup, winning her eighth title.

The team has won three Super Cups, two Championships and two Knockouts (Liberian Cup) and then two pre-season tournaments, excluding the dual achievement of its feeder team, BYC II.

In Saturday’s game, Jubilee FC whipped ELWA United 3-2. The victory was dedicated to the newly appointed president of Jubilee FC, businessman George Kailando.

Over the weekend, Nimba United thrashed Holder FC, 4-2; BYC II nailed NPA Anchors 2-0 and FC Fassell narrowly pinned newly promoted 2nd division club Joy Conquerors 1-0.

During the opener on Thursday, Keitrace FC also thrashed Aries 4-2 and Mighty Barrolle forfeited to IE.

The winner from yesterday’s game, between Watanga FC and Gardnersville FC, which was on up to press time would join the already eight teams which have qualified for the second phase.

Howbeit, at the quarter finals’ draw today at the LFA headquarters, one of nine teams could take a bye for the semi finals.

The President’s Cup is sponsored by Srimex Oil and Gas and Kailando Petroleum.

Meanwhile, the two newly 2nd promoted clubs, Sesay FC and Joy Conquerors are expected to lock horns during the official resumption of the 2014/2015 LFA League.

It may be recalled that on Friday, March 29, the Super Cup derby between BYC and FC Fassell marked the official opening of the LFA League.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here