Fans’ Safety Important in County Meet Finals


The Ministry of Youth and Sports has warned against “duplication of tickets” and expressed confidence in the Liberia National Police to handle the situation and ensure that match officials, players and fans are safe.

The concern over congestion at the County Meet finals has been raised because the finals take place at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium with the capacity of about 8,000 fans.

With a population of about four million and over one million in Montserrado County – of which thousands are followers of the County Meet – attendance is expected to be higher during the finals.

Assistant Sports Minister Murvee Gray told journalists yesterday that the games would be played “under safety and tight security to avoid overflowing.”

Minister Gray said “tickets would be printed” to avoid overcapacity, of which the Police have declared to help the Ministry ensure accountability.

“We believe the County Meet will continue to provide the forum for players to learn their skills, discipline, and gain confidence,” he said.

To prevent duplication, Minister Gray said tickets would be on sale as of today (Monday) and would be managed by the Ministry in collaboration with the major sponsor, Cellcom GSM.

The quarter-final (second round) of the 2016/2017 County Sports Meet will kick off Tuesday, December 19, with kickball and football.

At 11:00am, in the kickball, Margibi County faces Maryland County; and Grand Gedeh County Meets Montserrado County.

In football, which begins at 2:00pm, Maryland County will lock horns with Montserrado County, and Grand Cape Mount County will rub shoulders with River Gee County.

On Wednesday, December 21 – the second day of the quarter-finals – in kickball, Grand Bassa County will play Bong County; and the defending kickball champ will play host to Gbarpolu. And in the football, Lofa County will meet defending football champ, Grand Bassa County; and Nimba County faces Margibi County.

Last Thursday, the Ministry of Youth and Sports staged a draw at the Sports Commission in Monrovia with eight teams in two groups.

Members of Group A include Maryland, Montserrado, Grand Cape Mount and River Gee. Group B members are Lofa, Grand Bassa, Margibi and Nimba Counties.

At the end of the quarter-finals on Friday, two teams will qualify from each zone for the semi-finals.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here