Countdown: 43 Days to County Meet

Assistant Sports Minister_web .jpg

The organizers of the National County Sports Meet, the Ministry of Youth and Sports, has launched the official countdown of the 2015/2016 edition of the tournament, which is set to officially kick-off on Saturday, December 12.

The Ministry announced that the tournament is being organized in collaboration with the Ministry of Internal Affairs.

The tournament, which comprises of four disciplines, is also being supported by football, basketball, kickball and volleyball associations.

According to Assistant Sports Minister Murvee Gray the tournament will bring 60 teams from the 15 counties — under the theme: “Liberia Rising through Sports.”

“I am humbled to formally announce the theme of this year’s National County Meet – Liberia Rising through Sports and the launch the countdown,” Minister Gray said.

“We have also sent out the group stage, rules and regulations governing the tournament, the fixture and venues — the playing cards are at the finishing stage to be picked up next week.

“Vouchers for money for teams to prepare have been raised and would soon be ready for distribution amongst the counties,” he said.

He reemphasized that the official kick off of the County Meet will take place at the Doris Williams Sports Stadium in Buchanan, Grand Bassa County, where Group One qualifying matches will take place.

The Minister said preliminary rounds will be played at four venues in four rural counties; and the Antoinette Tubman Stadium will host the tournament’s final matches.

He announced that defending football champion, Grand Bassa County, is paired against, Bong, River Gee and Sinoe counties in Group One.

In Group two, defeated football finalists, Nimba County will host Grand Cape Mount, Bomi and Maryland counties in Sanniquellie.

Group Three matches will take place in Zwedru City, Grand Gedeh County, and host Lofa, Rivercess and Grand Kru counties; and Margibi, Montserrado and Gbarpolu counties are paired against each other in Group Four and they will play their matches at the Nancy B. Doe Stadium in Kakata.

Assistant Minister Gray regretted the exclusion of athletics (track and field) from the County Sports Meet, because of renovation works ongoing at the Samuel Kenyan Doe Sports Complex in Paynesville.

Reports gathered across across the country indicated that intensive recruitment and practices have intensified.

Counties’ authorities are pre-financing practices through their respective “County Social and Development Funds” and have reconstituted their Sports Departments.

Accordingly, 10 players are bound to be recruited from the county, while at least three 2nd division players should be inclusive, while the rest should be 4th and 3rd division players.

The Groups

Group I
Grand Bassa County
Bong County
River Gee County
Sinoe County
Venue: Doris Williams Stadium

Group II
Nimba County
Grand Cape Mount County
Maryland County
Bomi County
Venue: Sanniquellie Stadium

Group III
Grand Gedeh County
Lofa County
Rivercess County
Grand Kru County
Venue: Zwedru Stadium

Group IV
Margibi County
Montserrado County
Venue: Nancy B. Doe Stadium


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here