BYC against SuperSport United of South Africa

Liberian champions Barrack Young Controllers lined up for their match against FC Fassel

–in CAF Confederation Cup Playoff


After losing in the first round of the CAF Champions League, champion club Barrack Young Controllers (BYC) were yesterday paired against South African giants SuperSport United in the last 16 playoff rounds of the CAF Confederation Cup.

BYC are among the 16 losers of the CAF Champions League first round who were paired with 16 winners of the first round of CAF Confederation Cup.

They include, Rail Club du Kadiogo of Burkina Faso, Rivers United of Nigeria, AS Tanda of Ivory Coast, Horoya of Guinea, FUS Rabat of Morocco, KCCA of Uganda, CF Mounana of Gabon and Tanzania’s Young Africans.

SuperSport United players celebrate after scoring a goal in one of their matches

Others are Enugu Rangers of Nigeria, Gambia Ports Authority and Madagascar’s CNaPS Sport

The rest are South Africa’s Bidvest Wits, DR Congo’s TP Mazembe, AC Léopards of the Republic of Congo and Mauritius’ AS Port-Louis 2000.

SuperSport United advanced to the playoff rounds after qualifying from the preliminaries by defeating ASSM Elgeco Plus of Madagascar 2-1 on aggregate and during the weekend thrashed Al-Ahly Shendi of Sudan 4-0 to overturn a 3-2 score in the first leg, making it 6–3 on aggregate.

All the playoff matches will be played both at home and away.

The Go Blue Boys will host the South Africans in the first leg of the playoff rounds at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium on April 7 and will later travel to South Africa for the second leg on April 14.

Sixteen teams will qualify from the playoff rounds and be drawn into four groups of four teams, where two teams from each group will qualify to the quarter finals of the competition.


Barrack Young Controllers (Liberia) v SuperSport United (South Africa)

AS Tanda (Cote d’Ivoire) v Platinum Stars (South Africa)

Young Africans (Tanzania) v MC Alger (Algeria)

TP Mazembe (DR Congo) v JS Kabylie (Algeria)

AC Leopards (Congo) v Mbabane Swallows (Swaziland)

FUS Rabat (Morocco) v MAS Fez (Morocco)

Rangers (Nigeria) v Zesco (Zambia)

Mounana (Gabon) v ASEC Mimosas (Cote d’Ivoire)

RC Kadiogo (Burkina Faso) v CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)

Bidvest Wits (South Africa) v Smouha (Egypt)

CNaPS (Madagascar) v Recreativo do Libolo (Angola)

KCCA (Uganda) v El Masry (Egypt)

Ports Authority (Gambia) v Hilal Obeid (Sudan)

Port Louis (Mauritius) v Club Africain (Tunisia)

Rivers United (Nigeria) v Rayon Sports (Rwanda)

Horoya (Guinea) v Ittihad Tangier (Morocco).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here