Bassa Targets ‘5 Years’ to Win Trophy

Senator Karnga_web.jpg

Grand Bassa Superintendent Etweda Cooper and acting chairman of the Grand Bassa Legislative Caucus, Rep. Gabriel B. Smith, have expressed the hope of the county continuously winning the County Meet trophy, for at least five years.

They spoke to the Daily Observer, last Saturday to celebrate winning the 2013-2014 County Meet in Buchanan, Grand Bassa County.

The celebration brought over 50,000 Bassonians to the county capital, who marched and danced on the principal streets of Buchanan.

The trophies were presented to the Grand Bassa Legislative Caucus through the County Authority.

Madam Cooper said strategies are already in place to ensure that Grand Bassa County retains its trophies for five years.

She hailed the football and basketball teams for their victories as well as the athletics team for emerging 3rd place, and hoped better successes for the kickball and volleyball teams.

She also commended the technical committees and the Grand Bassa Sports Association, headed by Arthur Jimmy.

Rep. Smith announced that the Caucus has resolved to give its moral and financial support to the Grand Bassa Sports Association.

She said Buchanan, known for its hospitality will provide accommodation for the trophies for five years and thereafter give other counties chance.

Senator Nyonblee Karnga-Lawrence and Rep. Jeh Byron Brown in separate remarks said Bassa’s dream is to at least win the trophies five consecutive times.

The President of the Liberia National Oldtimer Association (LONA) Cllr. Theophilus Gould and former Barrolle President, Garmondeh Karnga amongst others Bassonians said in order to win the ‘trophies’ continuously, the team should be preserved, but make some recruitments, focus on training and provide financial incentives to the players.

The chairman of the program committee for the celebration, T. Nelson Williams, II expressed his thanks and appreciation on behalf of the county to sponsors which contributed to the success of the celebration.

Some include: LPRC, NPA, Arcellor Mittal, Lonestar Cell, Cellcom, Tsingtao, DsTV, Harry Greaves, amongst others.

The celebration’s attendance included an array of Bassa lawmakers: Deputy Speaker and Rep. Hans Barchue; Reps. Mary Karwor, Gabriel B. Smith, Jeh Byron Brown and Robertson N. Siaway.

Other senior citizens were the president of the Liberia Development Bank for Development (LBDI) John Davis, former Managing Director of the Liberia Petroleum Refining Company (LPRC) Harry Greaves and former presidential candidate and CEO for DsTv, Simeon Freeman.

Other lawmakers who attended the program, but are not from Grand Bassa are Reps. Tingbah, Eugene Fallah Kparkar and Acarous M. Gray.

Meanwhile, scores of Bassonians, who spoke to the Daily Observer congratulated the teams for their victories and urged the Legislative Caucus and the County Authority to workout modalities to ensure the teams’ success.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here