Wendell Addy Elected New Chamber of Commerce President

Minister Tarpeh (3rd from right) congratulates Wendell Addy (center) on his victory.

The leadership of Liberia Chamber of Commerce (LCC) yesterday, August 6, elected Wendell Addy as its new president, replacing Charles Ananaba, whose tenure has expired. Yesterday’s successful election followed three unsuccessful attempts to conduct the exercise.

Mr. Addy ran unopposed.

Those elected as members of the arbitration committee are Mawan Eid, O. Natty B. Davis, Umesh Kourani and R.V. Suji, Jr., auditor. Others elected as council members are Assaad Barbar, Eric Nagbe, Johny Babani, Gorgio Haddad, Charles Collins, George Nehme and Abraham Carsie. Others include Tarek Razzouk, H. G. Dewani, Fabiola Kamara and Maher Abouchacra.

A statement issued late Monday night by the Chamber’s secretary general, Salamartu Duncan, said the new leadership took over immediately after announcing the election results.

Ms. Duncan said as per the Executive Council mandate, and in keeping with the By-laws of the Liberia Chamber of Commerce, the 2018/2019 Executive Council will serve from August 6, 2018 to February 2019.

Meanwhile, the new council is expected to meet today to elect one deputy chairman, two deputy chairmen and a treasurer.

The Minister of Commerce and Industry, Wilson Tarpeh, who attended the ceremony delivered a special statement while Togba R. Croyee Porte, Assistant Minister for Trade Union Affairs at the Ministry of Labor, served as an observer.

Ex-Officio Members – Past President

Mr. Francis A Dennis (Past President)
Mr. Monie Captan (Past President)
Mr. Fredie R. Taylor (Past President)
Cllr. Henry Reed Cooper (Past President)
Mr. David Vinton (Past President)
Cllr. Seward M. Cooper (Past President)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here