Union of Liberia Community Forests Elects New Officers


Accredited members and stakeholders of the Union of Liberia Community Forests (ULCF) at a mass meeting recently elected its new corps of officers for a period of five years.

During the daylong meetings, the leadership of the union, following extensive discussions, agreed to establish an organization to be known as Union of Community Forests in Liberia.
The official deliberations coincided with the meeting and subsequent elections that were held on May 25, at the Richard M. Nixon School on Capitol Hill in Monrovia.

At the meeting the UCLF resolved to have the chairpersons and representative members of all duly registered community forests to establish the union in order to advocate for its members. This is in keeping with the regulations of the Forestry Development Authority (FDA) and forest laws of Liberia.
In the resolution adopted May 21, it was agreed that UCLF would enhance the smooth operation of community forests, ensuring that the various communities benefit from community forest.
The UCLF would also work with the FDA to ensure speedy and successful implementation of the ongoing community forest processes that started few years ago.
The UCLF also stands to educate community dwellers on the various steps leading to the issuance of the community forests licenses to the community by the FDA.

Besides, the UCLF intends to work with the FDA and other international organizations responsible for community forests, in order to make sure that the just benefits from community forest program and operations get to the community dwellers.
The UCLF would further work closely with relevant organizations responsible for community to put in the necessary mechanisms for the protection of forests from pit-sawing, substantive farming and acts that would deplete the forests.
Those elected were Messrs Arthur Kotee Gbabow, president, Sorboh S. Wesseh, vice president for Administration, Zubah W. Kponeh, vice president for operations, Jefferson Z. Zoegbeh, secretary general, Robert M. Tarpeh, assistant secretary general, Peter Jallah, assistant financial secretary and Madam Ruth J. Monlo, treasurer.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here