Speaker Picks 15-man Special C’ttee

House Speaker James Emmanuel Nuquay and Rep. Edwin M. Snowe.jpg

House Speaker J. Emmanuel Nuquay has appointed a 15-man Special Committee to manage the House of Representatives in collaboration with the Leadership, during its annual closure, from Wednesday October 5, 2016 to Monday, January 9, 2017.

On Wednesday, the newly elected and installed House Speaker formally adjourned the 5th Session of the Honorable House of Representatives in harmony to the Liberian Senate, which earlier closed on Thursday, September 19, 2016.

The House’s adjournment is arguably in accordance to Article 40 of the 1986 Liberian Constitution, which states: “Neither House shall adjourn for more than five days without the consent of the other and both Houses shall always sit in the same city.”

The 15-man Special Committee, comprising a member from each county, is responsible to manage and coordinate the affairs of the House of Representatives during the break (closure) and serves as a ‘management team’ in consultation with the Leadership, headed by the Speaker.

Those on the Special Committee include Representatives Samuel Kogar (Nimba County); Christian Chea (River Gee County); William Dakel (Montserrado County); Mary Kawor (Grand Bassa County); Matthew Zarzar (Sinoe County); Dr. Isaac Roland (Maryland County); Aaron Vincent (Grand Cape Mount County); Tokpah Mulbah (Bong County); Emmanuel Pennoh (Grand Gedeh County); Julia Wiah (Lofa County); Haja Siryon (Bomi County); Stephen Kafi (Margibi County); Byron Zanweah; Numene Bartekwa (Grand Kru County) and Getrude Lamin (Gbarpolu County).

Meanwhile, Speaker Nuquay has continued the reshuffling of statutory committees but did not affect any change from the appointment of Deputy Speaker Hans Barchue, who served as acting Presiding Officer.

The appointments affected two Committees which have purged members of the Pro-Tyler bloc, amidst the ousted speaker’s reconciliation message to members of the House of Representatives.

Montserrado County District # 6 Representative, Edwin M. Snowe is the new Chairman on the Foreign Affairs, despite row that the Montserrado lawmaker is already in a lucrative position as a member of the Liberian delegation to the ECOWAs Parliament. Rep. Snowe replaced
Malryland lawmaker James Biney.

The Montserrado County lawmaker is considered as the king-maker amongst his colleagues, owing to a political influence of his, which many believed was the impetus to Rep. Nuquay being elected Speaker.

Rep. Snowe is also the husband of Supreme Court Justice-in-Chamber, Her Honor Sie-A-Nyene Gyapay Youh, who ordered the election to be held by lifting the Stay Order earlier placed, and declined to uphold Speaker Tyler’s plea that he was removed unconstitutionally.

Nimba County Representative Samuel Kogar was also appointed Chairman of the Committee on Commerce, replacing Rep. Charles Bardyl of River Gee County.

It may be recalled that earlier, Deputy Speaker Barchue also made meticulous changes, affecting some statutory and standing committees, which kicked out all Pro-Tyler lawmakers.

The Deputy Speaker appointed Montserrado County lawmakers Josephine George Francis and Munah Pelham Youngblood as Chair and Co-Chair on Executive Committee, respectively; and replaced the chairman and co-chairman on the Committee on Ways, Means, Finance and
Development Planning, Rep. Moses Kollie (of Lofa County) and Rep. Sekou Kanneh (of Montserrado County) with Rep. Prince Moye (of Bong County) and Rep. Jeremiah Koung (of Nimba County), respectively.

Nimba County lawmaker, Worlea Sawah Dunah was appointed chairman on Judicairy, replacing Cllr. S. Gayah Karmoh (of Bomi County), another supporter of Rep. Tyler.

Rep. Byron Brown (Grand Bassa County) was retained as chairman on Rules, Order and Administration, but Rep. Mariamu Fofana (pro-Tyler) was replaced by Rep. Bill Twehway (Montserrado County).

Representatives Thomas Fallah (Montserrado) and Edward Karfia (Bong) replaced Representatives Ben Fofana and Garrison Yeallue, respectively, on the Committee on Public Account and Expenditure.

Rep. Garrison Yeallue was appointed as chairman on State Enterprises, Public Autonomous Commissions and Agencies Committee. He replaced Rep. Zoe Pennoh of Grand Gedeh County.

Bong County Representative George Mulbah replaced Maryland County lawmaker Dr. Bhofal Chambers on National Defense; Nimba County Representative Richard M. Tingban was appointed as Chairman on Lands, Mines, Energy and Environment, replacing Montserrado County

Representative J. Gabriel Nyenkan, who was transferred to the Committee on Youth and Sports, as Chairman; replacing Bong County lawmaker Lester Paye.

Gbarpolu County lawmaker Alfred Koiwood retained his position as Chairman on National Security.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here