Speaker Chambers Announces New Committee Members


In adherence to Rule 54 of the House’s Rules and Procedures, Speaker Bhofal Chambers has named the mid-term heads and members of the House of Representatives’ statutory and standing committees of various sectors in the country.

House’s Rule 54.1 says: All committee chairpersons and members shall serve for (3) three years, but only the chairperson and co-chairperson are subject to removal by 2/3 majority vote of the Members of the House for a cause.”

The appointment power of the Speaker is in accordance with Rule 7, which says the Speaker shall “Appoint the Chairpersons and Co-chairpersons of Statutory Committees;  appoint members of Statutory Committees in consultation with the House’s Leadership.”

The House’s Rule 7 also said the Speaker shall:  “In appointing the chairpersons, co-chairpersons and members of each Standing Committee, the Speaker shall take into consideration the partisan composition of the House, professional knowledge, expertise or experience of the individual appertaining to the functions of the committee.”
The appointments by Speaker Bhofal Chambers was done in consultation with the Deputy Speaker.

Representative Thomas P. Fallah of Montserrado County District #5  of the Coalition for Democratic Change (CDC) was retained as chairman on Ways, Means, Finance and Development Planning, while Rep. Matthew Zarzar, a former member of the Unity Party and now of the CDC, is the new co-chairman. He replaces Nimba  County senatorial candidate, Rep. Jeremiah Koung of Nimba County District #1, who is currently in court over alleged electoral frauds in the December 8, 2020 mid-term election.

Representatives Crayton O. Duncan (Sinoe County District #2) and Ivar K. Jones (Margibi County District #3) were appointed as chair and co-chair respectively on the Foreign Affairs Committee. Rep. Duncan replaces Rep. Edwin M. Snowe, Bomi County senatorial candidate, who is also in court.

Rivercess County District #1 Representative Rosanna G.D. Schaack is the only person named as chairman on the committee on Gender and Equity, Children Protection. 
The Health Committee chairman, Nimba County District #3 Representative Joseph Somwarbi, was reappointed while the former chairperson on Gender, Lofa County District District #2 Representative Julie Wiah, was named as co-chair on Health.

Grand Bassa County District #4 Representive Vicent Willie  is again chairing the Lands, Mines and Energy Committee assisted by  Alexander Poure of River Gee District #1, while Hydro Carbon is now being chaired by Abu Kamara  of Montserrado County District #15 and Rustonlyn S. Dennis of Montserrado County District #4.

The Speaker gave out the Judiciary Committee which was once chaired by current Deputy Speaker, J. Fonati Koffa, to Kanie Wesso of Gbarpolu County District #2, and will be co-chaired is Beyan Howard of Lofa County District #5, both of whom are lawyers.

Education and Public Administration Committee maintained its chair,  Rep. Johnson Gwaikolo of Nimba County of District #9, who before his election to the Legislature served as President of the United Methodist University (UMU).

Former Education Minister Dr. George Boley of Grand Gedeh District #2 is the co-chair on Education.
The Speaker also retained the chairman and co-chairman on the committee on banking and currency, Reps. Dixon Seeboe of Montserrado County District #16, and Hanson Kiazolu of Montserrado County District #17.

The committee on commerce is again headed by Nimba County District#5 Representative Sam Kogar, while Montserrado County District#14 Representative Abraham V. Corneh is the co-chairman.

Rep. Emerson Kamara of Grand Cape Mount County District #3 is the chair on Transport and Rep. Robert Womba of Bong County District #4 is the co-chair.

Nimba County District #4 Representative Gunpue L. Kargon is the chair on Claims and Petition, while Rep. Ceebee C.D. Barshell of Montserrado County District #3 Representative.

Nimba County District #2 Representative Prince Tokpah was reappointed as chair on Agriculture and Forestry, and  River Gee lawmaker Francis Young is the co-chair, and Rep. Alex Grant of Grand Gedeh is the chair on State Enterprise and Rep. Ellen Attoh-Wreh is the co-chair.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here