Senate Reshuffle

Protemp Jallah.jpg

Senate president Pro Tempore Armah Zolu Jallah has reshuffled a number of committee members at the Senate, which affects four standing committees, and three subcommittees under the Ways, Means, Finance and Budget as well as one autonomous entity.

Senator Jallah said in a statement that the changes were necessary for the good of the Senate, “because they allow all Senators to serve on the various Senate Committees either as heads or as members.”

By the reshuffle, Grand Gedeh County Senator G. Alphonso Gaye now chairs the committee on Public Accounts and Audit. Until his new appointment, Gaye has served as chair on Transport Committee. He now replaces Bong County Senator Henry W. Yallah, who now chairs the committee on Public Works and Rural Development – a position vacated by Senator Oscar Cooper of Margibi County.

Senator Yallah will also serve as co-chair on the committee of Public Accounts.

Sinoe County Senator J. Milton Teahjay vacates the committee on Information, Broadcasting, Culture and Tourism. He now co-chairs the committee on Public Works and Rural Development. River Cess County Senator Francis Paye, who had chaired the committee on Social Security, Pension and Insurance, now goes as chairman of committee on Transport.

Former chairman of the all important committee on Lands, Mines, Energy, Environment and Natural Resources, Grand Kru County Senator Albert Chie, has been sent to the committee on Ministry of Transport as co-chair, and a member of Public Works and Rural Development.

Margibi County Senator Cooper and chairman on Public Works now goes as sub-committee chairman on Ways and Means of the Senate under the Committee on Ways, Means, Finance and Budget. He is also a co-chair on Social Security, Petition and Insurance.
Grand Bassa County Senator Nyonblee Karnga-Lawrence, who currently chairs Post and Telecommunications, now goes as Sub-committee chair on Appropriations and Expenditures under the committee on Ways, Means, Finance and Budget; co-chair on Social Security, Petition and Insurance.

Bomi County Senator Morris G. Saytumah is now Sub-committee chairman on Revenue and Finance under the committee on Ways, Means, Finance and Budget. He is also the new co-chairman on Social Security, Petition and Insurance.

Meanwhile, the Daily Observer has learnt that Senator Cooper on Monday wrote Pro Temp Jallah stating that though he was pleased with the confidence reposed in him, he was declining his respective appointments on the grounds that he is unable to accept the appointments at the time due to his current overwhelming responsibilities to his constituents.

Senator Cooper is of the conviction that Pro Temp Jallah will fill these positions with the appropriate members of the Senate.


  • Born unto the union of Mr. & Mrs. Johnson Tamba on May 16. Graduated from the Salvation Army School System " William Booth high school" in 2006/2007 academic year. He also went to the Young Men Christian Association (YMCA) computer program, where he graduated with a diploma in computer literate in 2008. He is now a senior student of the University of Liberia, Civil engineering department, reading Civil engineering. He is in a serious relationship with Mercy Johnson and has a junior boy name, Otis Success Johnson, born 2016, March 29.

Leave a Reply