Pending Vacancy for Pro-Temp Seat


Grand Bassa County, a place noted to be where “the hospitality of Liberia begins” has lost the contest of retaining the seat of President Pro-Tempore of the Liberian Senate.

In the 53rd National Legislature, Grand Bassa captured the posts of President Pro-Tempore of the Senate and Deputy House Speaker of the House of Representatives, respectively.

Incumbent Senator Gbehzohngar M. Findley was up for re-election as were other colleagues of his.

According to preliminary results announced by the National Elections Commission (NEC) yesterday, President Pro-Tempore Findley failed to parlay his incumbency and deny Liberty Party’s (LP) candidate Jonathan Kaipay from obtaining 10,360 of the 18,891 votes cast.

Findley has bagged 6,656 votes against rival Kaipay who is largely relying on the Methodist Church projects to showcase himself, a political commentator said.

Since Madam Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has lost to Amb. George Weah through the senatorial bid of her son Robert, she is now depending on her long time supporters, and friends, Conmany B. Wesseh of River Gee, Morris Gato Saytumah of Bomi and former Sinoe County Superintendent J. Milton Teahjay who are leading in their respective races, to protect her image after her departure.

However, as the count continues both the collective opposition and the ruling party, continue to lose votes in and out of their strong holds.

Presenting the provisional results of the just ended election last night, National Elections Commission Chairman Cllr. Jerome Korkoya announced that outgoing Cuttington University President, Henrique Tokpa, leads the poll with 8,048 followed by incumbent Senator Jewel Howard Taylor with 7,901 votes in Bong County, with just 276 polling places of the total 435, constituting 63.45% of votes counted so far in that county.

For Gbarpolu and Grand Cape Mount Counties, Daniel Naatehn and Cllr. Varney Sherman are leading the poll with 1,690 and 1,281 respectively.

Unity Party (UP) Chairman, Cllr. Varney Sherman, is also poised to win Grand Cape Mount County ahead of incumbent Senator Abel Massaley and Dr. Foday Kromah, a former president of the National Oil Company of Liberia (NOCAL).

All time Unity Party vote rich Margibi County has failed to repeat history by giving Congress for Democratic Change (CDC) candidate Ansu Sonii the lead – so far 2,606 of the 26.75% votes cast.

Sonii had amassed more votes than that of determined incumbent Senator Clarice Jah, while Senator John Ballout of the Unity Party struggled to poll more votes above Representative Dr. Bhofal Chambers who accumulated 4,798 of the 112 polling places so far announced by the Commission out of the 143 polling centers.

With the votes coming in gradually, Grand Bassa looks set to lose the President Pro-Tempore seat of the Republic.

According to Articles 47 and 49 of the Liberian Constitution, both Houses must elect every six years a President Pro Tempore and the House Speaker.

With the clock gradually winding down on Findley, Bassa is about to lose the race to anybody.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here