Number of Seated Senators Reach 27

Several weeks after they were certificated by the National Elections Commission (pictured), Senators Botoe Kanneh (middle) Wellington Geevon Smith are poised to be sworn in at the Senate.

— As three certificated Senators Kanneh, Smith and Koung get inducted today

Following months of legal battles before the National Elections Commission and the Supreme Court, the Senate will this morning conduct the induction ceremony of certificated Senators Botoe Kanneh of Gbarpolu County; J. Wellington Geevon Smith of River Cess, and Jeremiah Koung of Nimba County. Senators Kanneh and Smith were certificated over three weeks ago and were placed on the Senate agenda on March 31, 2021, for induction, but a motion was proffered by Montserrado County Senator Saah H. Joseph halting the process; citing Senate Rule that stipulates that notice for plenary action must be circulated a day before session.

For his part, outgoing Representative Jeremiah Koung was certificated by NEC recently after winning a legal electoral battle against his female opponent, Madam Edith Gongloe-Weh, at the Supreme Court.

The induction of Madam Botoe Kanneh brings to two the number of female Senators, including Grand Bassa County Senator Nyonblee Karnnga Lawrence, who is now the second Senator to retain her Senate seat after now Vice President Jewel Howard Taylor in 2014. Meanwhile, Senators-elect Brownie Jeffrey Samukai of Lofa County, Augustine Chea of Sinoe County and Simeon Taylor of Grand Cape Mount County are still waiting their fate at the Supreme Court.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here