NEC Reserves Rulings in Cape Mount, Sinoe Elections Disputes

Board of Commissioners of the National Elections Commssion

The Board of Commissioners (BoC) of the National Elections Commission (NEC) has heard arguments and counter-arguments and reserved rulings in disputes that arose from the December 8, 2020 Special Senatorial election in Cape Mount and Sinoe Counties respectively.

The NEC Board on Monday March 22, 2021 listened to all parties who have, by law, been heard by the Hearing office of NEC and rulings were handed down by that hearing office.

NEC’s board decision came following the hearing of the appeal filed by Victor Watson, candidate on the ticket of the Coalition for Democratic Change (CDC) in Grand Cape Mount County against Mr. Simeon B. Taylor, Senator Elect of the county who contested on the ticket of the opposition Collaborating Political Parties (CPP).

Led by Cllr. Alhaji Sayubu Sheriff, a team of lawyers representing Incumbent Senator Victor Watson in a twenty-count submission are asking the Board of Commissioners to nullify the election of Mr. Simeon Taylor as Senator-elect in Grand Cape Mount County, asserting that Mr. Taylor voted two times in two different centers, a contravention of chapter 10.2 of new Elections Law.

Although it is not clear as to whether Senator-elect Taylor committed any offense against the New Elections Law, Chapter 10.2 of the New Elections Law categorizes influencing results by whatever means as well as voter-trucking, among others, as malfeasance and are punishable by law.

Prince Dunbar, acting head of communications at NEC said the second hearing was on an Appeal, growing out of the case, ‘Collaborating Political Parties, (CPP), by and through its Sinoe county Chairman, Thomas Treason and Madam Grace Scotland Brimah, both of Sinoe County, versus Mr. Augustine S. Chea, incumbent and Senator-elect on the ticket of Coalition for Democratic Change, (CDC).

“Lawyers representing Grace Scotland Brimah of CPP are praying that the Board of Commissioners grant them their prayer to conduct a rerun in 14 Polling Places in districts two and three in Sinoe county on allegations of irregularities, including the “very late opening of some polling places” even up 3 p.m. on election day,” Dunbar said.

Dunbar, in a press statement, said the Board of Commissioners, headed by Davidetta Browne Lansanah, is expected to serve notice on all the parties concerned as to when will be the rulings in their respective cases.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here