Names of Qualified Candidates for UP’s Gbarnga Convention Released

Unity party.jpg

The ruling Unity Party (UP) yesterday announced the names of partisans qualified to contest for positions at the party’s upcoming National Convention scheduled in Gbarnga from July 7-9.

The Chairman of the party’s election committee, Clarence Massaquoi, announced Vice President Joseph Boakai as the sole Standard Bearer candidate as his opponent, Dr. Toga G. Mcintosh, withdrew and resigned because of what he called controversies in the conduct of the upcoming process.

“As we speak, Joe Boakai will go unopposed for the Standard Bearer position,” Massaquoi said, adding that the position of National Secretary General remains open to qualified partisans.

According to him, four categories, including the Standard Bearer, are created in line with the party’s constitution.

For the Youth Congress, Kansualism Berk Kansuah and Curtis Dorley applied to contest. Both of them have met all the requirements for the position.

Whroway Bryant, up to press time, remains the only applicant to contest for the Vice Chairman of the Youth Congress, while Lawrence A. D. Kanuwah and F. Alphonso Y. Belleh II will be contesting for the Secretary General position.

Vying for the Deputy Secretary General position are Arthur Wogbeh and Sampson J. Nyan, while Joshua D. Garteh and Fata K. Johnson will be running for Treasurer.

As for the Women’s Congress, five women, including Helena Doe-Knuckles, Selena Polson Mappy, Jacqueline M. Capehart, Lwuopu G. Kandakai and Macaetoh P. Wreh Togba will be chasing the votes of their fellow partisans to occupy the seat of Chairperson.

Betsy T. Kuoh and Patience B. Randall will be neck to neck for the seat of Vice Chairperson of the Women’s Congress, while Ophelia J. Swen- Kennedy and Danlette Tonia Dean will contest for the Secretary General spot.

For the positions of Deputy Secretary General and Treasurer, Cleopatra K. Taylor and Valarie D.C. Williams will each go unopposed.

The outgoing Secretary General, Wilmot Paye, will contest unopposed for the National Chairman position, while Neto Zarzar Lighe Sr. and Stephen Y. Nuefville will go against each other for the National Vice Chairman spot.

Others are Omega S. Brown and Isaac F. Mannah Sr., who are poised to contest for the Vice Chairman for Governmental Affairs and Dee-Zoe Lake and J. Cole Bangalu will contest for Vice Chairman of Interparty and National Elections Commission Affairs.

The position of National Deputy Secretary General will be contested for by Arthur Bestman, Patrick Tarnue Worzie and Andrea Sartee, while Ben A. Fofana, Edmund Forh Forh and Jannie Williams will chase votes for the National Treasurer seat.

Meanwhile, Len Eugene Nagbe and Henry Fahnbulleh, who were both earlier disqualified from contesting the National Secretary General position, are now encouraged to reapply as the seat will be vacant because Mr. Paye is vying for the Chairmanship.

Mr. Nagbe and Mr. Fahnbulleh were earlier found guilty of not paying their regular party dues.
For his part, the Chairman of the Convention, Prince Moye, said the elections will be conducted in a free, fair and transparent manner void of any external interference.
“There is no need for anyone vying for any position to doubt the credibility of the elections committee as we are very mindful of the fact that we are going to the 2017 legislative and presidential elections, and those to be elected will be expected to run the affairs of the party for the next six years,” Moye said.

Born unto the union of Mr. & Mrs. Johnson Tamba on May 16. Graduated from the Salvation Army School System " William Booth high school" in 2006/2007 academic year. He also went to the Young Men Christian Association (YMCA) computer program, where he graduated with a diploma in computer literate in 2008. He is now a senior student of the University of Liberia, Civil engineering department, reading Civil engineering. He is in a serious relationship with Mercy Johnson and has a junior boy name, Otis Success Johnson, born 2016, March 29.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here