LFA National League Resumes this Weekend

LISCR players celebrate after midfielder Stephen Seameh got the curtain raiser.

Players got match rusty, coaches ran out of patience, and frustration kept reigning on the faces of national football followers. Several dates were announced for the resumption of the league, but the event failed to take place.

For a long while, the Antoinette Tubman Stadium (ATS), Nimba United Sports Pitch, and the Blue Field have not hosted dramatic matches as they usually do.

Now, everything seems to be ready for the beginning of the 2018/2019 Liberia Football Association (LFA) national league season this weekend.

The 2017/2018 league season ended on August 14, 2018, after LISCR FC became double champions by clinching the FA Cup title with a 3-0 win over ELWA United, now SRIMAX FC, at the ATS in Monrovia.

According to the LFA, the new league season will begin this weekend, with double champions LISCR FC taking on SRIMAX in the LFA Super Cup on Saturday, August 25. This follows a stakeholders’ meeting held on August 15, 2018, at the headquarters of the LFA.

In the women’s football category, the Super Cup match will be played between Earth Angels and Senior Pro.

The official national league will follow on Monday, August 27, 2018, at various venues across the country. According to the fixtures, matches will be played at the ATS, Blue Field, Nimba United Stadium in Mount Barclay, outside Monrovia, Kakata  Sports Stadium, in Margibi County, and the Ganta Sports Stadium, in Nimba County.

Unlike previous league seasons, the 12 teams in the league have been divided into two groups comprising six teams each.

Group A include Nimba FC, FC Fassell, BYC I, Small Town FC, Watanga FC, and M.C.Breweries FC, while Group B include defending champions LISCR FC, Jubilee FC, Nimba United, NPA Anchors FC, Keitrace FC, and LPRC Oilers FC.

In the second division, GROUP A has PAGS FC, JAI FC, M.B. Angels FC, Bea Mountain FC, Mighty Barrolle FC, Gardnerville FC, and Junior Pro FC.

Group B includes Freeport FC, Bristol FC, Nimba Kwadoe FC, BYC II, Invincible Eleven FC, Tony FC, and SRIMEX FC.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here