Legislature Ratifies More Protocols


The House of Representatives and the Senate have ratified several other protocols of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), which were signed by the government of Liberia and sent to the Legislature by President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf.

The additional Protocols (A/SP.1/06/06) are intended to amend certain articles of the ECOWAS treaty establishing the Authority of Heads of State and Government and defining its composition and functions. Specifically, the protocol amended Articles 8, 9, 10 (2), 12, 17, 18, 19, 22 (1) and 83.

The new provisions address issues relating to the Sessions and Chairmanship of the Community; Legal Regime of the Community; Publication and Entry into Force of Community Acts. They also deal with the Commission’s establishment and composition; appointments; functions and technical committees, as well as its establishment and composition, relations between the community and other regional economic communities and cooperation agreements.

On the eve of their annual break, the lawmakers ratified the protocol on the establishment of the World Health Organization, which seeks to amend a number of articles on the establishment of the West African Health Organization. The protocol specifically addresses a certain number of articles of protocol A/P2/7/87 of July 1993 relating to the adoption of Staff Rules and Regulations of the West African Health Organization.

Another supplementary protocol ratified by the Legislators is the one amending the Preamble and Articles 1, 2, 9, 22 and 30 (Protocol A/P.1/7/91) relating to the Community Court of Justice and Article 4, paragraph 1 of the English version of the said protocols.

That protocol aims to amend certain Articles of Protocol A/Pol/7/91 relating to the Community Court of Justice. It also seeks to align the English version of Article 4, paragraph 1 of the Protocol relating to the Community Court of Justice with the French version to ensure consistency, while also addressing the Terms of Office of Members of the Community Court, and its Jurisdiction and Budget.

Also unanimously ratified was Protocol A/P2/12/01 relating to the ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development (EBID), which outlines the establishment of the EBID, with the basic objective of supporting regional integration infrastructure and development projects as well to support the development of the community through the financing of special programs or projects.

The initial authorized capital of the EBID “shall be 603,000,000 Units of Account with each member subscribing to an initial share of EBID. The initial subscription of each member shall consist of 35 percent paid up and 65 percent of callable shares.”

The supplementary protocol relating to the ECOWAS Parliament was among conventions ratified, and focused on the designation of the Parliament, the life of the Legislature, term of office, structure of the Parliament, election of the Speaker and the Rules of Procedures.

Previous articleAkon Launches ‘Light to Learn’
Next article‘Liberians Proud of 13 Yrs. of Peace’
Born unto the union of Mr. & Mrs. Johnson Tamba on May 16. Graduated from the Salvation Army School System " William Booth high school" in 2006/2007 academic year. He also went to the Young Men Christian Association (YMCA) computer program, where he graduated with a diploma in computer literate in 2008. He is now a senior student of the University of Liberia, Civil engineering department, reading Civil engineering. He is in a serious relationship with Mercy Johnson and has a junior boy name, Otis Success Johnson, born 2016, March 29.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here