ECOWAS Parliament Inducts New Liberian Members

Liberia's five members .jpg


The First Ordinary Session of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Parliament opened yesterday in Abuja, Nigeria, with the induction of new members from Liberia. 

The xenophobic attacks in South Africa, the plight of African immigrants and elections conducted recently in some member states topped the agenda.

The Speaker of the ECOWAS Parliament, Ike Ekweremadu, swore in Liberia’s Montserrado County Senator George Weah.  Senator Prince Johnson of Nimba County, who was elected to the ECOWAS Parliament, was absent for the swearing-in program.

Senators Weah and Johnson replaced Mobutu V. Nyenpan, and Theodore Momoh, both former Senators and outgoing members of the ECOWAS Parliament from Sinoe and Gbarpolu counties respectively.

The Liberian delegation was accompanied by the Liberian Ambassador to the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Prof. Dr. Al-Hassan Conteh.

Other members included Haja Siryon (Bomi County), Jefferson S. Kanmoh (Sinoe County), and Tokpah J. Mulbah (Bong County).

Representative Munah Pelham-Youngblood also accompanied the delegation as a special guest of honor.

The Parliament, following the adoption of the agenda, debated the xenophobic attacks in the Republic of South Africa, the plight of African immigrants in the Mediterranean Sea and elections that were conducted in some ECOWAS Member States.  

The ECOWAS Parliament is composed of 115 seats with each Member State having a guaranteed minimum of five seats. The remaining 40 seats are shared on the basis of population.

Liberia's five members to the Parliament now include Senators Weah and Johnson and Representatives Siryon Mulbah and Kanmoh, a dispatch from Abuja said yesterday.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here