Deputy Speaker Reshuffles Leadership Committees


Deputy Speaker Hans Barchue has reshuffled some statutory committees, purging members of the Pro-Tyler bloc.

In Thursday’s session, the Deputy Speaker Barchue replaced the chairman and co-chairman on the Committee on Ways, Means, Finance and Development Planning, Rep. Moses Kollie (of Lofa County) and Rep. Sekou Kanneh (of Montserrado County) with Rep. Prince Moye (of
Bong County) and Rep. Jeremiah Koung (of Nimba County), respectively.

Nimba County lawmaker, Worlea Sawah Dunah was appointed chairman on Foreign Affairs, replacing Cllr. S. Gayah Karmoh (of Bomi County), another supporter of Speaker Tyler.

Rep. Byron Brown (Grand Bassa County) was retained as chairman on Rules, Order and Administration, but Rep. Mariamu Fofana (a partisan of Tyler) was replaced by Rep. Bill Twehway (Montserrado County).

Representatives Thomas Fallah (Montserrado) and Edward Karfia (Bong) replaced Representatives Ben Fofana and Garrison Yeallue, respectively, on the Committee on Public Account and Expenditure.

Rep. Garrison Yeallue was appointed as chairman on State Enterprises, Public Autonomous Commissions and Agencies Committee. He replaced Rep. Zoe Pennoh of Grand Gedeh County. According to the Deputy Speaker, there would be more reshuffle as of Tuesday, September 20.

Reports said there would be several leadership committees to include Executive, Foreign Affairs, National Security, National Defense, Investment & Commission and Youth & Sports.

It is believed that reshuffling of committee heads is ‘payback’ for the fight against the recusal of Speaker Tyler. It may be recalled that a similar action took place eighteen months ago by Speaker Tyler, when he changed the leadership of statutory and standing committees.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here