Cllr. Musa Dean, Others Confirmed

According to Justice Minister F. Musa Dean (pictured), the accountability of the mop up funds is not in question, however, section 2.2.4 of the GAC’s report says that fifteen entities listed by the CBL as having received moneys from the CBL’s staff during the exercise, denied their participation in the exercise.

The Senate, still convening in the joint chamber of the legislature yesterday, received reports from various committees, all recommending confirmation for nominees, among them Cllr. Frank Musah Dean, Jr., as Justice Minister and Attorney General.

In its report, the Judiciary, Human Rights, Claims and Petitions Committee, chaired by Senator Varney Sherman, informed plenary that the Justice Minister and Attorney General-designate was qualified for the position.

“After thorough examination of the curriculum vitae (CV) of the nominee, exhaustive analysis of his testimony and answers to questions posed to him by committee members, and given his service records within the judicial system of Liberia and other institutions of the Liberian government; the policies, visions, which the committee has determined will positively impact the government’s pro-poor policy through the Ministry of Justice, and therefore, the committee on Judiciary, Human Rights, Claims and Petitions is convinced that the nominee has the requisite educational background and working experience to effectively serve as the next Attorney General of Liberia,” Sherman said.

President George Weah nominated Cllr. Dean days after signals from the Capitol Building showed that the Senate, through its Judiciary Committee, would not recommend Cllr. Charles Gibson for confirmation, who for several days received public bashing against his apparent lack of integrity, when it was reported that he misapplied money belonging to his clients.

Cllr. Gibson was President Weah’s first choice for the Justice Ministry post.

Others confirmed by the Senate plenary in executive session yesterday included Jarvis A. Witherspoon, Sr., Chief of Protocol; Ambassadors-at-Large: Robert L. Lormia, Ibrahim K. Nyei, Jarjar M. Kamara, and Marie K. Coleman, all Inspector Generals for Foreign Service.

The Judiciary Committee and Committee on Defense and Intelligence also recommended confirmation for Prince B. Mulbah, Liberia National Police (LNP) Deputy Inspector General for Crime Service Division/Criminal Investigation Division (SCD/CID)-designate, and Robert W. Budy, Deputy Inspector General for Operations-designate.

Since President Weah took the oath of office, the Senate has in 30 days confirmed ministers for the ministries of Finance and Development Planning; Lands, Mines and Energy; Defense; Commerce and Industry; Public Works; Education; Youth and Sports; Labor; and Internal Affairs, while several deputies, director generals and assistant ministers have also been confirmed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here