African Peer Review, ECA Officials in Liberia


The Executive Director of the African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) National Secretariat, Dax Paterson, yesterday announced the arrival of the APRM Continental Secretariat and the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) in Liberia for a four-day official visit.

The APRM Continental Secretariat is led by Professor Edward Maloka and a team of resource persons from the United Nations Economic Commission on Africa. While in the country, they will provide technical assistance and also build the capacities of key stakeholders of the
APRM Liberia Country Program ahead of Liberia’s country self-assessment study.

According to Dr. Patterson, during the visit, the 10-member delegation will participate in the official launch of the APRM National Sensitization Campaign slated for tomorrow, October 19, at the Monrovia City Hall.

The team will also conduct a two-day capacity building workshop on APRM communications, methodologies and research questionnaires at a resort in Sinkor.

“While in the country, APRM Continental team will meet with Boima S. Kamara, Minister of Finance and Development Planning and APRM National Focal Point, members of APRM Multi-sectorial National Governing Council, the APRM National Secretariat, Technical Research Institutes (TRIs) and Strategic Partners,” a press release announced.

The APRM Technical Mission will also hold a sensitization workshop with state and non-state actors on the APRM’s communication strategies.

It may be recalled that in February this year, the APRM country support mission team met with President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for Technical Assistance to the APRM Liberia Country Program.

Liberia acceded to the 14th Forum of Heads of States and Governments of the APRM in January 2011, and has made meaningful contributions in terms of representation and participation.

In May 2013, President Sirleaf was appointed chairperson and served for two years before turning over to President Uhuru Kenyatta of Kenya.

The APRM, which was established in 2003, is an African Union initiative for promoting good governance within the framework of the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD).

The objectives of the APRM are primarily to foster the adoption of policies, standards and practices that lead to political stability, high economic growth, sustainable development and accelerated sub-regional and continental economic integration. Those goals are met through experience sharing and reinforcement of success as well as best practices, including identifying deficiencies and assessment of requirements for capacity building.

The foundation of the APRM is built around four thematic pillars: Democracy and Political Governance, Economic Governance and Management, Corporate Governance and Socio-economic Development, the release stated.

The APRM is a commonly approved framework voluntarily consented to by member states. Since its establishment in 2003, 37 countries, more than half of Africa’s nations, with three-quarters of its population, have acceded to the APRM framework.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here