Liberia: UL Plans over US$5M Renovation

The four  major campuses of the University of Liberia are expected to undergo renovations as part of the University's plan to create a better learning environment for its growing student population.

The campuses to be renovated are Fendell, A.M. Dogliotti College of Medicine, David Straz, and the one on Capitol Hill. Dr. Julius Nelson, President of the University of Liberia, made the disclosure during the induction of officers-elect of the University of Liberia Staff Association (ULSA) that an initial US$3 million renovation “will formally kick-off in about 10 days”, simultaneously on the campuses.

The UL President said that the renovation will be "very major" and the first in about 50 years.

In a firm tone, the UL boss said the pending renovations of the campuses are part of the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) which was signed on October 1, at the Ministerial Complex between the UL Administration in partnership with the University of Liberia Faculty Association (ULFA) and the Government of Liberia.

“We can assure all of you that every letter of the MOU will be implemented and the University of Liberia will receive a facelift,” Dr. Nelson said.

The UL President indicated that the General Service Agency (GSA) will be responsible for sanitation; the Engineering Department of the Armed Forces of Liberia (AFL) will mend and maintain the roads, while the Ministry of Public Works and the Liberia Agency for Community Empowerment (LACE) will renovate and beautify all of the campuses to complete the facelifts.

President George M. Weah appointed Dr. Nelson, replacing Dr. Ophelia Inez Weeks on October 18, 2019. President Lawrence Seitua, In his inaugural speech, forwarded three recommendations to the UL administration.

“The staff's benefits, such as local and international scholarships; bus transportation of staff at David Starz Sinje and the inclusion of contractors into the employment system.

Officials who were inducted on Friday to steer the affairs of ULSA fòr twǒ years, are Mr. Lawrence Seitua, Mr. President; Preston Dee, Vice President; Madam Janemah K. Jallo, Secretary-General; Mr.  Martin E. Weah, Assistant Secretary-General; Madam Helena Jackson, Treasurer and Mr. Jcee Bai Walker, Chaplain.