Liberia: RIGCCA Congratulates President-elect Boakai

River Gee County Association in the Americas (RIGCAA) has extended its congratulations to Joseph Nyumah Boakai for his victory in Liberia’s closely contested presidential runoff election.

The announcement of the final results on November 20 by National Elections Commission chairperson Davidetta Browne-Lasanah confirmed Boakai as the president-elect, receiving 814,481 votes (50.64%) compared to President George Manneh Weah, who garnered 793,914 votes (49.36%).

The RIGCAA National President, Aloysius Sebastian Benjamin, Jr., conveyed his felicitations to Boakai on behalf of the River Gee citizens. During a telephone conversation on November 22, 2023, Benjamin expressed gratitude for the peaceful elections and President Weah’s acceptance of the outcome, acknowledging the role it played in maintaining stability in Liberia.

Established in 2002, RIGCAA is headquartered in Minnesota, USA, and was formed by citizens of River Gee County residing in the United States, with a collective objective of socioeconomic development for the region.

“We congratulated the President-elect and we hope that his administration will be the dawning of a new day for our country and its people,” Benjamin said.

In response, Ambassador Boakai expressed his appreciation to the River Gee citizens in the United States for their support and pledged to work diligently to provide essential services for all Liberians.

RIGCAA, as an organization, has been engaged in various development activities in River Gee County, including supporting educational initiatives by assisting with tuition payments for needy students and adults training in nursing and teaching. RIGCAA is also funding a library project in Fish Town, among other endeavors.

As a registered nonprofit organization in the USA, RIGCAA holds a 501(c)(3) status. The current leadership of RIGCAA is headed by President Aloysius Sebastian Benjamin, Jr., along with Vice President Sylvanus Tipayson, General Secretary Jay Blama Young, Chaplain Fatu Kear (Pastor), Treasurer Beatrice Nagbe (Mrs.), and Parliamentarian Oretha Matilda (Mrs.).

Additionally, the board of directors includes Chairman Johnson Doe II, Co-chairperson Mrs. Mimi Barclay, General Secretary Hon. Cepheus Choloplay, and members Raymond Chea and Minister Albert Pah. The River Gee County Association in the Americas looks forward to working with the new administration in supporting the progress and development of River Gee County and Liberia as a whole.