Liberia: Rep. Samson Wiah Donates L$50K to Sinoe’s First-ever 2nd Division Team

NPA Anchors II players and officials celebrate after their historic qualification to the 2nd division.  

May 27, 2022 was a historic day in Liberia’s football history, following the qualification of NPA Anchors II, the first-ever Southeastern team, to the Orange 2nd division league.

Following the milestone, the Southeastern champions have begun getting the support of Southerners and other permanent individuals attached to the team. In appreciation of the team’s success, Sinoe County District #2 Representative Samson Wiah, on June 3, presented L$50,000 to the team at his Capitol Building office as his initial contribution ahead of the 2022/23 league season.

Based in Greenville, Sinoe County, NPA II progressed to the national 3rd division playoff as champions of the Sinoe Sub-Association league. The lawmaker’s contribution was received by team’s captain Andrew Tarley, Deputy Captain Kofi Brown, and club president Bladee, all of whom thanked Rep. Wiah for his contribution and urged other Southeasterners to do the same.

In the midst of uncertainties over the team’s home ground for the upcoming league season, President Bladee disclosed that the team will host their home matches in Greenville, Sinoe County and are also contemplating on the change of the team’s name to “Sinoe County FC.”

The hosting of the team’s home matches in Sinoe County has been a major concern from football stakeholders due to the deplorable road condition leading to the county. However, the newly promoted Southeastern 2nd division team are optimistic of their participation in the league despite the road challenge. 

Despite losing their first game 5-4 on penalties against Angels FC of Bomi after a 1-1 draw, the Southesatern team dropped into the losers category based on the format of the tournament. However, dropping to the losers’ category wasn’t the end of the road for the Southeasterners as they went on to win the remaining games that saw them progress as one of the five newly promoted 2nd division teams.