Liberia: CDC Re-elects Morlu, Others on White Ballot

 The Chairman of the Congress for Democratic Change Mulbah Morlu. 

... “[For the] first of its kind since the establishment of CDC, in 2004, [we] have conducted a peaceful and harmonious primary that brought on board a new corps of officers to steer the affairs of the party to 2029,” a release from the party said. 

The Congress for Democratic Change has chosen to keep President George Weah as Standard Bearer and Mulbah Morlu as the party chairman — all on white ballot.

The election, which was held without the party’s usual fanfare, will see Morlu steering the party and its standard bearer to the 2023 election. The vote of confidence also comes at a time when economic performance indicators under the Weah administration appear hardly optimistic.

Morlu’s white ballot win makes him one of the party’s longest serving leaders. In 2017, as party Vice Chair for Operation, he played an instrumental role in Weah’s election.

But the task next year is heavy and something that the CDC chair appears confident to shoulder as all eyes look on him now to deliver Weah the presidency.

The CDC is in collaboration with the National Patriotic Party of Vice President, Jewel Howard Taylor and the Liberian People’s Democratic Party of former House Speaker Alex Tyler; and in partnership with other political parties. Together, they make up the ruling — Coalition for Democratic Change.

Meanwhile, Morlu’s election at the CDC’s 7th national convention coincided with the election of the party’s former Youth Chair, Monrovia City Mayor Jefferson Koijee, being elected as its next secretary general.  Koijee is one of the longest serving leaders in the CDC.

“[For the] first of its kind since the establishment of CDC, in 2004, [we] have conducted a peaceful and harmonious primary that brought on board a new corps of officers to steer the affairs of the party to 2029,” a release from the party said. 

“The CDC at its 7th national convention, held November 21, unveiled a platform upon which its chairman won on white ballot. The convention, which comprised 370 delegates from across the fifteen counties, also unanimously voted for former Youth League Chair Jefferson Koijee as the party's new Secretary General.”

The convention opened corridors for several positions within the party of which many had one candidate winning on white ballot, except for the Secretary General and Vice Chair for Finance and Investment Positions.

Koijee won the party Secretary General post by obtaining 276 votes while his rival Prince Kreplah accrued 91 votes out of 370 votes cast.

On the other hand, Samora P. Z. Wolokollie, the Deputy Minister of Finance for Fiscal Affairs, Ministry of Finance and Development Planning, won the Vice Chair for Finance and Investment position with 221 votes out of the 368 votes cast.

“Besides the two positions, each of which was contested for by two candidates, all other positions were won by individuals on white ballot,” the release said. 

“Other party Stewarts who won on white ballot include Montserrado County Electoral District #5, Representative Thomas Fallah as Vice Chair for Operations; Mamasee Karbah as Assistant Secretary General for Press and Propaganda; Willamina Piso Saydee Tarr (The Minister of Gender) Vice Chair for Political Affairs, among others.”

Others are; Janga Augustus Kowo, the country’s Account General, who has a new portfolio: Vice chairman for Legal and Governmental Affairs; Lewis A. Wright, Vice Chairman for Planning and Program, and Nimba County Representative Johnson Gwaikolo as Vice Chairman/International Affairs.

Sediki Fofana Vice Chairman for Gender Affairs, Musa Konneh, Vice Chairman for Membership, Mobilization and Recruitment; Montserrado County Representative Abu Kamara, Vice Chairman for Inter-Party Affairs; and Horatias A. Richards, Chairperson for Human Resource Development.

The rest of the elected officials are; Garblah Vincent Williams retains his post as Vice Chairman for Administration; Roland Keculah Mendscore moves up to Deputy Secretary General for Administration; Anderson S. Chea, Public Relations Officer; Randall Dobayou, Deputy Secretary general for Research and Records; John Yobouty collected the Treasurer position; Rev. Fester Logan kept on as national Chaplain; and C. Mike Doryen, chairman, Elder Council.

Meanwhile, the CDC convention also took into consideration amendments to its Constitution, agreeing that the executive committee be allowed to set new due payments in accordance with present day economic realities. 

In addition, the Congress also amended that any individual wanting to be the Standard bearer must spend two or more years with the party and must be in good moral standing for eligibility purposes.

At its 7th National Convention, the party added into its Constitution that the Executive Committee be given a seven-year term in office.