LFA Releases Nominees for 2020/21 Awards

(L-R) Fred Brooks, Alloy Brown and Augustine Out were nominated for Male MVP Award .  

-- Daily Observer Nominated for Best Print Media Award

The Awards Committee of the Liberia Football Association (LFA) on August 30, announced the nominees for various awards of the 2020/21 league season.

The Awards are meant to recognize players, coaches, and sports Journalists, and media institutions for their outstanding performances during the season. A total of 48 nominations from coaches, captains, and accredited sports journalists were received, according to the awards committee.

According to the committee, the voting process for the awards will run from September 8-28. Coaches’ vote constitutes 35%, Captains 25%, Journalists 25%, and Public 10%. The awards night is slated for October 2, 2021.

The awards, which are sponsored by Doxxbet-Liberia and Orange-Liberia, were officially launched on June 18 with the unveiling of two new Kia sport-utility vehicles (SUV) as prizes for the Most Valuable Players in the male and female categories. Orange-Liberia, as an official sponsor of the Orange national league, provided an additional L$2.5 million as support towards the awards.   

In August of 2020, the LFA and Doxxbet-Liberia signed a three-year deal, valued at US$100,000, subject to renewal, to sponsor the LFA awards. The MVPs in the men’s and women’s divisions will receive a car plus L$150,000 respectively.

The highest goal scorer in the first division will receive L$300,000 while the highest goal scorers in the second and women’s divisions will receive L$200,000 respectively. The best defenders, best goalkeepers, best coaches, best referees, best sports reporters, and fair play teams in the men's and women’s divisions will receive L$200,000 respectively.

Meanwhile, the Daily Observer was nominated for the Best Print Media award alongside The News newspaper and FrontPage Africa newspaper.

Full List of Nominees:

Male MVP: 

🔷Fred Brooks ( LPRC Oilers)

🔷Alloy Brown (Nimba Kwado)

🔷Augustine Out (Watanga FC)

Male Best Defender: 

🔷Sampson Dweh (LPRC Oilers)

🔷Mehnpaine Dolo (LPRC Oilers)

🔷Asiamuh Dann (Nimba Kwado)

Male Best Coach 

🔷Copper Sannah (LPRC Oilers)

🔷Tapha Manneh (Former LISCR FC coach)

🔷Matthew Julutweh (Watanga FC)

🔷Samuel Sumo (BYC II)

Best Male Referee

🔷Hassan Konneh

🔷George Rogers

🔷Mohammed Bah

Women’s Division MVP

🔷Agatha Mimele (Blanco FC, now plays for Campbellsville University )

🔷Angeline Kieh ( Earth Angels, now plays for Campbellsville University)

🔷Hawa Conte (Determine Girls)

Women’s Division Best Defender 

🔷Francisca Howard (Earth Angels)

🔷Margaret Stewart (Determine Girls)

🔷Jestina Wilson (Determine Girls)

Women’s Division Best Female Coach

🔷Robertson Weber (Determine Girls)

🔷Jasper Felix (Earth Angels)

🔷Lucretius Togba (Blanco FC)

Best Female Referee

🔷Sylvania Garnett

🔷Love Wehyee

🔷Tracy Cheyee

Best Male Journalist

🔷Joseph Vincent

🔷Anthony Kokoi (Withdraw)

🔷Michael Solomon

Best Female Journalist

🔷Naneka Hoffman

🔷Naomi Tappia 

Best Print Media

🔷The News 

🔷Daily Observer 

🔷Frontpage Africa

Best Electronic Media 

🔷Prime FM




Best Online Media 

🔷Lib Sports International


🔷Let’s Promote Women’s Football