2022 CHAN Qualifiers: Liberia Move to Camp

Liberia U17 Head Coach Ansu Keita has been appointed as stand-in coach to take charge of the local national team.

Liberia’s senior national team comprising home-based players has moved to a camp at the George Weah Technical Center, ahead of their match against Senegal in the 2022 African Nations Championship.

The 2022 CHAN will be the 7th edition of the African Nations Championship, a biennial football tournament organized by CAF exclusively featuring players from the respective national championships. The tournament will be held in Algeria. Liberia will host Senegal on July 24 in the first leg at the refurbished SKD Sports Complex in Paynesville before traveling to Senegal for the return leg.

This will be Liberia’s first international home match at the SKD since 2020 after the SKD was banned from hosting international matches. The aggregate winner from the match will face Guinea in the final round of the WAFU Zone A qualifiers. Three teams will qualify from the zone.

During the previous edition, Liberia suffered a 3-1 aggregate defeat against the Senegalese. The local-based Lone Star secured a 1-0 win in the first leg through Christopher Jackson's lone goal but succumbed to a 3-0 away to the Senegalese.

Liberia U17 Head Coach Ansu Keita has been appointed as a stand-in coach to take charge of the team for the tournament, as the LFA has officially informed Coach Peter Butler that his contract will not be renewed. Coach Keita on Tuesday called up 28 players comprising 4 goalkeepers and 24 outfield players who comprise 9 defenders, 12 midfielders, and 3 forwards.

Meanwhile, the LFA has announced that the Local based national team will face Sierra Leone in an international friendly on Sunday, July 10 as part of preparations for the Senegal match.

Full Squad: 

GOALKEEPERS: SONGO, Tommy (LISCR); WILLIAMS, Ashley (LISCR); YEANAYE, Junior (Nimba Kwado); JULU, Derrick (Watanga).

DEFENDERS: MOMO, John (LISCR); KENNEDY Prince (Mighty Barrolle); WILLIAMS, Carlos (Watanga); KAH, Darius (LISCR); NAGBO, Prince (Nimba Kwado); DWEH, Sampson (LPRC Oilers); KAMARA, Kemoh (Bea Mountain); BENAIAH, Ben (LPRC Oilers); and SHERMAN, Budu (Freeport FC).

MIDFIELDERS: BILITY, Yaya (Bea Mountain); JACKSON, Sam (LISCR); SACKOR, Benjamin (LPRC Oilers); PADMORE, Rufus (LISCR); NYANAMAH, Julius (Nimba Kwado); TEAH, Divine (Nimba FC); ANDREWS, Nicholas (Mighty Barrolle); JEBO, Ketu (Bea Mountain); LOGAN, Farsedu (Watanga); NYUMAH, Saah (Invincible Eleven); GIAH, Tony (Freeport); and LEDLUM; Edward (Bea Mountain).

FORWARDS: DWEH, Patrick (Freeport); ZAWOH, Prince (Nimba United); and KROMAH, Sedeki (Invincible Eleven).